December 15, 2014

BIVI Announces The 2014 Equine Research Award Recipients

In case you didn't have a chance to join us at AAEP for the announcement of our Equine Research Award recipients, here's a quick recap. The five recipients were:

  1. Brandy Burgess, DVM, MSc, PhD, DACVIM (LAIM), DACVPM
    Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA
    "Evaluation of a rapid test strip, PCR, and aerobic culture for detection of Salmonella enterica in equine fecal samples in the clinical setting"

  2. Aimie J. Doyle, DVM, MS, DACVS
    Atlantic Veterinary College, Charlottetown, PEI
    "Comparison of the efficacy of chlorhexidine and alcohol-based surgical hand antisepsis in equine surgeons"

  3. Nicola Pusterla, DVM, PhD, DACVIM
    University of California Davis, Davis, California
    "Prevalence of equine coronavirus in nasal secretions from horses with fever and upper respiratory tract signs"

  4. Laurent L. Couetil, DVM, PhD, DACVIM
    Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
    "The role of infectious agents in equine inflammatory airway disease"

  5. Ramiro E. Toribio, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVIM
    The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
    "Longitudinal effects of oral antimicrobial drugs on the equine fecal microbiome"

The Equine Research Awards provide an exciting opportunity to receive funding for research that delves into equine diseases. Each year Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. awards a total of $75,000 to deserving recipients. Next year could be your year! To apply contact Dr. Steve Grubbs at: You can also find more information at