The Awards for Advancing Research in Respiratory Disease board members include:

  • Luc Dufresne, DVM, Seaboard Farms, Shawnee Mission, Kansas 
  • Tim Loula, DVM, Swine Vet Center, P.A., St. Peter, Minnesota
  • Daryl Olsen, DVM, AMVC, Audubon, Iowa 
  • Montse Torremorell, DVM, PhD, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, Minnesota
  • Darin Madsen, DVM, PhD, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa
  • Nathan Winkelman, DVM, 2018 AASV Presidential-elect, Swine Services Unlimited, Inc., Rice, Minnesota
  • Adam Schelkopf, DVM, 2018 AASV Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year, Pipestone Veterinary Services, Pipestone, Minnesota

Our independent board members look forward to reviewing your proposal.

From our board members:

“By implementing the key learnings from the research funded by the Awards for Advancing Research in Respiratory Disease, producers and veterinarians can more effectively stabilize their herds and manage the disease with less impact on production.” – Dr. Montse Torremorell, University of Minnesota

"PRRS has proved to be a tough opponent and the BI Awards for Advancing Research in Respiratory Disease is helping the industry and practitioners understand the complexities of the virus." – Dr. Tim Loula, Swine Vet Center, St. Peter, Minn.

“A lot of PRRS research projects started with funding that came through the Awards for Advancing Research in Respiratory Disease program. Research in areas such as ventilation, filtration, boar studs and regional control have been pivotal to improving the industry’s understanding of PRRS.”– Dr. Daryl Olsen, AMVC Management Services, Audubon, Iowa

“I’ve been proud to serve on the BIVI Awards for Advancing Research in Respiratory Disease review board and involved in reviewing a large number of research study proposals over the years, many of which have greatly improved our knowledge of and ability to manage the virus.”– Dr. Luc Dufresne, Seaboard Foods, Mission, Kan.